Compositions by Flo Menezes

[wp = world première]



Elf Lieder von Johannes Brahms mit zwei Falten transkreiert für Sopran, Alt und Orchester bei Flo Menezes.
[11 Songs by Johannes Brahms with two Folds – interferences – in "transcriation" by Flo Menezes for soprano, alto and orchestra].

Soprano, alto and orchestra.

Obs.: this work consists greatly on transcriptions of Brahms' songs, but it stays both as transcriptions as well as one of Flo Menezes' works because of its transgressive character as well as because of the two orchestral interferences ("Folds" = Falten) by Flo Menezes himself.

2 flutes in C (2. also piccolo)
1 flute in G
2 oboes
1 cor anglais
2 clarinets in Bb
1 bass clarinet in Bb
1 tenor saxophone in Bb
2 bassoons
1 contrabassoon
4 horns in F
2 trumpets in C
1 trumpet in Bb
2 tenor trombones in Bb
1 bass trombone in Bb
1 tuba in F
2 percussion players
piano (also celesta)
strings (at least: 14–12–10–8–6)
+ soprano and alto.

1. Liebestreu, Op. 3, n. 1 (E flat minor) – Soprano
2. Mädchenlied, Op. 107, n. 5 (B minor/major) – Soprano
3. Kommt dir manchmal in den Sinn, Op. 103, n. 7 (E major) – Soprano
4. O wüsst’ ich doch den Weg zurück, Op. 63, n. 8 (E major) – Alto
5. Falte 1, zur Retention [Dobra 1, à Retenção] by Flo Menezes
6. Wohl schön bewandt, Op. 52 (Liebeslieder), n. 7 (C minor) – Alto
7. Wiegenlied, Op. 49, n. 4 (E flat major) – Alto
8. Wie Melodien zieht es mir, Op. 105, n. 1 (A major) – Alto
9. Falte 2, zur Protention [Dobra 2, à Protensão] by Flo Menezes
10. Lerchengesang, Op. 70, n. 2 (B major) – Soprano
11. Rothe Abendwolken zieh'n, Op. 103, n. 8 (D flat major) – Soprano
12. Die Mainacht, Op. 43, n. 2 (E flat major) – Alto
13. Sehnsucht, Op. 49, n. 3 (A flat major) – Soprano.

Commissioned by the OSESP (Orquestra Sinfônica do Estado de São Paulo).

ca. 34'

Video of the world première on 15 June, 2019, with Ludmilla Bauerfeldt (soprano), Ana Lúcia Benedetti (alto) and the OSESP conducted by Valentina Peleggi.

The same video at the Youtube Channel by OSESP.

The TransLieder score is published by Editora OSESP, São Paulo. Click here to access the score.

| back to mainpage